The University of Utah Presidential Search

Update, July 21, 2021:

After an extensive national search, the University of Utah Presidential Search Committee has recommended three finalists to the Utah Board of Higher Education for the position of University of Utah President:

Jayathi Y. Murthy, Ph.D.
Presentation: Aug 4th @ 12:30 - 1:15 pm

Jayathi Y. Murthy, Ph.D. is the Ronald and Valerie Sugar Dean at the UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science, with about 190 faculty members, and more than 6,000 undergraduate and graduate...

read more

Taylor R. Randall, Ph.D.
Presentation: Aug 4th @ 1:45 - 2:30 pm

Taylor R. Randall, Ph.D. joined the University of Utah in 1999 and has served as dean of the David Eccles School of Business for 12 years. Under his leadership the Eccles School has gained a national reputation...

read more

Carrie L. Byington, M.D.
Presentation: Aug 4th @ 3:00 – 3:45 pm

Carrie L. Byington, M.D. is the executive vice president for the University of California’s health enterprise and a professor of pediatrics at the University of California, San Francisco. She not only leads the country’s largest public...

read more

Public meetings: The finalists will be on campus Wednesday, August 4, 2021 to meet with groups representing faculty, staff, students, trustees and administration. Each finalist will participate in a public meeting that afternoon, where attendees from the U’s community and the general public will have the opportunity to ask questions of the candidates.

Location: University of Utah Marriott Library Gould Auditorium; 295 South 1500 East, Salt Lake City

Watch online: Members of the campus community and public are welcome to attend in person or watch these sessions online at To pre-submit a question for a candidate please email:

Feedback: There are three ways to share input on the candidates. (1) email, (2) submit feedback anonymously by candidate: Jayathi MurthyTaylor RandallCarrie Byington or (3) submit written comments at the in-person presentations on August 4. All feedback is due by midnight, August 4, 2021.

Final interviews and selection: On Thursday, August 5, 2021, the Utah Board of Higher Education will interview the finalists in a closed session. The Board may convene a public meeting at Rice-Eccles Stadium (fourth floor) at 5 p.m. that day to select the president. If another date and time are chosen, this site will be updated to reflect that.

Update, June 7, 2021:

The search for a new president to lead the University of Utah continues to move forward. The search committee recently met to review applications received. The breadth and depth of the pool of applicants was outstanding and included an impressive group of candidates from diverse backgrounds and having many strengths. While the task of narrowing the pool of candidates was challenging, the search committee has selected 11 individuals to interview in coming weeks. The committee will then forward up to five finalists to the Utah Board of Higher Education for consideration. Prior to interviews with the board, the finalists will meet with on-campus groups, including the U’s Board of Trustees, the President’s Cabinet, faculty and staff, and students. An update will be posted about dates, times and locations of public campus meetings with the candidates once the finalists are selected.

The Search Process

The Utah Board of Higher Education oversees the selection of new presidents for public universities and colleges throughout the state. It expects to announce a presidential search committee for the U’s top post by the end of January 2021.

Open application deadlines will be announced once the search committee has been formed.

The Presidential Search Committee

Update, Friday February 5, 2021:

The Utah Board of Higher Education named a 30-member committee to conduct a national search for the next president of the University of Utah. The committee is being led by Harris H. Simmons, chair of the Utah Board of Higher Education, and Christian Gardner, chair of the University of Utah Board of Trustees.

On Feb. 19, 2021, the Utah Board of Higher Education named Dr. Michael L. Good, senior vice president for Health Sciences, as interim president. He will assume the position in April. In addition to members of the Utah Board of Higher Education, the search committee includes representatives of the U’s trustees, faculty, staff, students, administration, alumni and community members.

The Presidential Search Committee will host public forums in coming weeks to receive input from the U community and the general public that will inform its work. Based on that feedback, the committee will approve a position announcement and issue a call for nominations and applications, aided by a national search firm. The committee will screen applications and conduct interviews with candidates. The committee will then recommend three to five semifinalists to the Utah Board of Higher Education. The board intends to name a new president by fall 2021 but will take the time necessary to find the most qualified candidate.

The search committee members are:

Utah Board of Higher Education

Crystal Maggelet

Shawn Newell

Harris Simmons

Arthur Newell

U of U Board of Trustees

Christian Gardner

Katie Eccles

David Parkin

Kim Brunisholz

Administration, Faculty & Staff

Randy Dryer

Academic Senate President; lecturer, Honors College, College of Law

Smitha Warrier

Assistant professor (clinical), Department of Anesthesiology

Mary Elizabeth Hartnett

Endowed Chair & Distinguished Professor, Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences; adjunct professor, Neurobiology & Anatomy Labs & Pediatrics

Randall Peterson

Dean, College of Pharmacy; professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology

Sneha Kasera

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Engineering; professor, School of Computing

Al Landon

Assistant dean, Business Relations, David Eccles School of Business; adjunct professor, accounting

Chris Linder

Associate professor, Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education; director, McCluskey Center for Violence Prevention

Matthew Sigman

Peter and Christine S. Stang Presidential Endowed Chair, Chemistry; chair, Department of Chemistry; Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Martell Teasley

Dean and professor, College of Social Work

Alison Flynn Gaffney

Executive director, Service Lines, Ancillary & Support Services, U of U Hospitals & Clinics

Mary Ann Villarreal

Vice President for Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion

Bryce Williams

President, Staff Council

Heidi Woodbury

Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Helene A. Shugart

Director of Graduate Studies
Professor, Department of Communications

Sarah Creem-Regehr

Professor, Department of Psychology
College of Social & Behavioral Science

Community & Alumni

Clark Ivory

CEO of Ivory Homes

Kathie Miller

Member, U of U Health Educational Resource Development Council

Jennifer Price-Wallin

Chair of College of Fine Arts Advisory Board

Charles Sorenson

President/CEO Emeritus Intermountain Healthcare; Founding Director, Intermountain Healthcare Leadership Institute

U of U Students

Merry Joseph

Undergraduate Biomedical Engineering, Psychology

Ethan Ramos

Undergraduate Computer Science

Claudia Loayza

Graduate Student Architecture + Planning